Lacura Mineral Cream Blush in Soft Coral review and swatch

Hello peeps =) how has your weekend been? I’ve only been working for a week and already am missing my evening classes, lol. At least I get to sleep in, although I do get home quite late at night. But I guess it’s for the better since I should start having a good sleeping habit.

Anyway. I just found out that Aldi has a skincare and makeup range named Lacura (as previously mentioned in my Daiso layered eyeshadow post), and yesterday I went there to pick something up. My sister needed to go to Specsavers to pick up new glasses, so we stopped by Aldi afterwards.

Oh, on an unrelated note, we had brunch at the Grounds Keeper Cafe before we went to pick up the glasses. No, I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. The service was abysmal (if you want to know more, read my review on Trip Advisor here, they didn’t even say sorry >=/ ).

Anyway, I went to the very back, and there was a line of Lacura stuffs. However, I couldn’t find the mineral cream blush I came for, so I picked up a face primer (which I have yet to try). We walked towards the checkout and then I noticed their mineral line on display somewhere close to the checkout. It made me wonder why they didn’t just put everything together since it would make things easier…

Anyway, here’s a picture of the things I got.

20150815_131139

The blush comes in a little glass pot with black lid. The word Lacura is written on the lid, and on the back there’s a sticker with the shade name and other details. There are three different shades; a rose shade, the soft coral one, and a golden tan one.

20150815_131215

Doesn’t it look good? I like the colour in the pot. The texture doesn’t actually remind me of ‘cream’ blush. I have elf HD blush and elf cream blush. While the cream blush is more like Maybelline’s bouncy blush in texture, this one reminds me of hard candy when I first saw it. Honestly. When I touched it, there’s no give. Dabbing doesn’t pick up the product at all, so you have to swipe. I haven’t tried using a brush with this, but it applies well with fingers. It blends quite well, and is quite pigmented as well.

Here’s a light and heavy swatch of the blush.

20150815_131507

This is not blended out, just swiped, so you can blend it out to get sheerer, less obvious colour. I find the colour to be, indeed, a soft coral. It looks better on me than the cool pink of elf HD blush in Headliner on me, methinks. Sadly, though, it fades after about 3-4 hours, and it gets rubbed off quite easily. I like to rest my cheek on my hand, and I find that side to be more faded than the other side, lol.

However, since it comes in a small pot with a twist cap, it’s easy to carry around, so you can bring it with you for touch up if you need to. I’m actually liking the shade a lot, so it’s a pity that it doesn’t last too long.

Overall:

Packaging: 5/5

Pigmentation: 5/5

Staying power: 3/5

Price: 5/5

Packaging: I like the fact that it’s small enough to fit in your handbag without being too much of an added weight. It has a twist cap,so it’s easy to open but won’t open in your handbag. The pot looks quite sturdy too.

Pigmentation: as you can see from the swatch, it is quite pigmented.

Staying power: the only disappointment of the product for me. It’s faded by 3-4 hours, and especially if you touch your face a lot, like I do.

Price: I got this for about $7. It’s quite small, not as cheap as elf products, but still quite cheap nonetheless.

Definitely didn’t regret giving this a try. I find that, somehow, I actually like the hard candy texture, lol, and I adore the colour too. It’s quite cheap, so you can give it a try without feeling like you lost a lot if it doesn’t work particularly well for you =) I’m gonna give the primer a try tomorrow and see if I can see a difference at all with it.

And I might pick up some stuffs from Maybelline too since Priceline currently has a half price Maybelline sale x) I really need to stop buying so many items… I’ve seen someone do a challenge in which they could not buy new stuffs until they use up the old ones first. Maybe I should do that too >.>

Anyone else as addicted to buying new stuffs as I am? Lol. I don’t think this is what my father expected to happen when he got me to do a makeup course, but oh well xP

Leave a comment